Berlin Zookeeper

Two women. One shocking wartime secret. And a family mystery just waiting to be discovered...

Berlin Zoo, 1943: Ten-year-old Adelaide and her newborn sister are orphaned after a devastating night of bombing. Heartbroken and frightened, Adelaide runs to her mother’s closest friend, Katharina Heinroth, and the kind zookeeper takes the two little girls under her protection. As the bombing intensifies, Adelaide tries to shut out the horrors of war by caring for her tiny sister and playing with the adorable baby monkeys. But when Katharina organises a dangerous operation to enable children and animals to escape the battle-scarred city, something goes wrong. And Adelaide has to promise her adopted mother to keep a shocking secret. A secret that will change Adelaide’s life forever.

Berlin Zoo, 2019: Bethan Taylor notices the elderly lady sitting on the bench next to her seems confused, her thoughts flitting between past and present. Ada talks of her childhood, played out in an underground bunker beneath the animal enclosures during the war. As Ada’s story unfolds, Bethan is surprised to hear a name she recognises…

Katharina Heinroth is at the top of a list of German names Bethan found in a hidden compartment of her late mother’s jewellery box. Bethan’s father couldn’t tell her anything about the crumpled piece of paper and she’s been searching for the meaning ever since.

As the two women are brought together by the pain of the past can they help each other to heal? And after decades of silence, can Ada help Bethan to uncover a long-buried family mystery?

An unforgettable and heart-wrenching novel of a brave orphan girl and a shocking wartime secret. Inspired by a true WW2 story and perfect for fans of Orphan Train, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Alice Network.

What readers are saying about Anna Stuart:

I absolutely LOVE this book it had my heart breaking and tears constantly streaming down my face!...I can’t give this enough praise, I genuinely loved it so much… A beautiful love story… an emotional rollercoaster…such a tear jerker. Absolutely recommended from me, you NEED to read this!’ Curled Up With a Good Book, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Oh my heart I love this booka real tearjerkerso heart-warmingIf you need a little warm hug of a read then this is just perfect.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Oh wowI absolutely loved it…once I started it I didn't want to put it down. I have recommended it to all my friends.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

It broke my heart and put it back together several times… loved the book from the first page to the last.’Portobello Book Blog, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I fell hook, line and sinker for this storyHeart-warmingnot just a book you read, it’s a book you feel every moment of and is a true treasure.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Grabs you from the first pageI didn't want to put it down. My favourite read so far this year.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I absolutely loved this book, and devoured it in one glorious afternoon…very highly recommended.’ Being Anne, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Oh my! One truly stunning read I will remember for a very long time.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I absolutely adored this book, I literally couldn’t put it down…’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A cracking read... a moving, compelling story...’ Novel Delights, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Heart-warming, life affirming and an utter joy to read.’ My Bookish Blogspot, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐